This Week in Food

July 16, 2009

This week was amazing.  I went to Eau Claire and was able to make a lot of different dishes.  Many of them I made in the past, but I was able to try making some new things that my brother-in-law showed me last week.  I have pictures to record my kitchen endeavors.

French Toast with real maple syrup and Alchemy Farm's Organic (Black) Raspberries

French Toast with real maple syrup and Alchemy Farm's Organic (Black) Raspberries

I was treated to this by a friendly soul. I have to say, I was skeptical when she made it with white bread, but I can’t have asked for a french toast that was much better. I do not know, but maybe Wolfgang Puck could do a better job. But if that is her competition, I’d rather not pay the $100 for his french toast and dig into some of this.

Polenta, Salmon with Rasperry Beurre Rouge, Grilled Asparagus and Zucchini, and Sweet Potato Fries

Polenta, Salmon with Rasperry Beurre Rouge, Grilled Asparagus and Zucchini, and Sweet Potato Fries

Alchemy Farm‘s Dean Parent is constantly teaching me about food. He’s one of those chefs that can look into his fridge and tool around his kitchen for a few minutes then have a menu for dinner ready. We had previously spoken about Brasa and Alma and the polenta I had at Alma, so Dean decided he would let me try some of his polenta, which was delicious. The sweet potato fries were served with a chipotle and garlic aioli. The beurre rouge on the salmon was brilliant. I am typically not a fruit with my meal kind of person (I think of fruit as a desert item), but the red wine and butter in the beurre rouge settled the sweetness in the raspberries down.

Italian Sausage burgers on Ciabatta with Edam cheese, Roma Tomatoes, Garlic, and cracked pepper

Italian Sausage burgers on Ciabatta with Edam cheese, Roma Tomatoes, Garlic, and cracked pepper

I do not expect and “wow!”s from this, but I love setting Italian sausage outside of the dishes I have always had it in (typically with spaghetti sauces). I also just enjoy making immensely simple recipes from which each ingredient can be tasted strongly.

Rajas con Hongos, Avocado, Tomato, Radishes, Shredded Cheddar and Mozarella, Chevre with Walnut crust, and Ciabatta

Rajas con Hongos, Avocado, Tomato, Radishes, Shredded Cheddar and Mozarella, Chevre with Walnut crust, and Ciabatta

Dean showed me the meal to the left as well. Rajas con Hongos is a dish made from roasted Poblano peppers and sauteed mushrooms. Dean also used lemon, cream cheese, black pepper, and a little salt. I, of course, used too much cream cheese, but when I made it the taste was still quite good. The other ingredients are self explanatory, except that I committed a sin by used store bought shredded cheese. Forgive me.

Fun with Tomatos and Chevre

Fun with Tomatos and Chevre

Anytime I mention a food, please feel free to request the recipe from me in the comments. I can either give you the recipe, the resource from which it came, or both.

One Response to “This Week in Food”

  1. k8 said

    I just found your blog via scienceblogs and I love that you enjoy cooking. How fun! I look forward to many more cooking posts.

Leave a Reply

