I fixed it.

August 31, 2009

Ceviche and Tomato Confit in the bowl, Tomato Tartar with Mozarella, and Pomeganate French Soda

Ceviche and Tomato Confit in the bowl, Tomato Tartar with Mozarella, and Pomeganate French Soda

I made a ceviche a while ago and was not very pleased with it.  Then I got a suggestion from Dean of Alchemy Farms (my brother-in-law) and I worked out a new ceviche.  Pleased, I shared it with my roommate.  I originally wanted to make the  ceviche in the tomato confit I was making to pair it with.  I became wary of this after consulting some of my foody friends and decided to make tomato tartar, put it on some toasted ciabatta, and place with some fresh mozarella instead.  In the dish I put the ceviche on a bed of arugula and put some toasted ciabatta and tomato confit around it.  That was my compromise for not being able to marinate the sea bass in it.

Tomato Confit fresh out of the oven
Tomato Confit fresh out of the oven

The drink I paired it all with has a story.  I used to work at a cafe in a basement.  The owner of this cafe was Armenian and antisemitic (exhibited by by clear factual references to The Protocols of the Elders of Zion), but he was a pretty damn good cook of his region’s food.  Often making me (there was non turnning this guy down – he would get so excited about it) try new drinks (e.g. anise seed tea, english breakfast and clove tea) and new foods (e.g. pita with olive oil, za’atar, and labna).  The drink we had this night was kind of a pomegranate french soda.  Just a bit of pomeganate molasses, soda water, sugar, half and half, and ice.  Very good.  It has a pleasant tartness to it.

Sadly, while I fixed the ceviche, I did run into another problem: BLUE SCREEN OF DEATH.  My computer will only run in Safe Mode now.  I was planning on building another computer soon, but I was hoping this one would last me until I saved a few dollars to build the new one.  AHH!!! Lame!

Leave a Reply

